52 Week Challenge: Dots!

I didn’t know when or how I’d do this. The reason I didn’t do the polka dot mani was because I wanted to get a dotting tool, but never got around to getting one. I was going to not do this, but I figured “Meh, might as well use the bottom of one of my paint brushes. What’s the worst that can happen?”

A pretty cool mani, evidently.

Thank you phone camera!

One of the other things I was stuck on was a color scheme. I didn’t want to do another sports theme, but I wanted something that looked springy and happy. So, I hit my favorite color inspiration site, Design Seeds, and found this color scheme.

For the base, I used Sally Hansen’s Xtreme Wear in Wet Cement. I used two coats. It was, for the most part, opaque in one, but there were some bare spots that were covered with the second coat. For the dots, I used Sinful Color’s Midnight Blue, as well as Julep’s Anne and Charlotte for the dark and light purple, respectively. I didn’t have a color that worked well for the light blue. In between the grey and the dots, as well as over the dots, I used Sally Hansen’s Insta-Dri. It has taken over SV’s spot as my favorite fast-dry top coat. While it does take longer to dry, I don’t have nearly the issued with chipping after it’s dry that I had with SV. It’s also cheaper, and cheap is always good. 🙂 I haven’t tried INM’s Out The Door yet, though.

Thoughts? Ideas?

Leave a comment